A satisfying vegan ‘beef’ stew that uses tempeh* instead of meat. If you’re not familiar with tempeh, it’s a protein source that’s made by fermenting cooked soybeans, which is then formed into a dense cake that can be cut to whatever size you desire. Know, however, that some brands of tempeh may contain wheat or are not manufactured in a gluten-free facility. If in doubt, check with the manufacturer of the brand that you are thinking of using to be sure it’s gluten-free.
- 1 (15 oz) can organic pumpkin purée
- 1 (15 oz) can organic black beans
- 1/2 cup almond milk
- 1/4 cup gluten-free, Reduced Sodium San-J Tamari or other brand
- 1 large onion, diced
- 4 garlic cloves, chopped
- 2 celery ribs, chopped
- 2 carrots, sliced 1/2-inch round
- 1 cup vegan red wine* or more
- 1 teaspoon freshly ground cumin seeds
- 1 teaspoon dry sage
- 1 teaspoon dry basil
- 2 (8oz) packages gluten-free tempeh, cut into bite-size pieces
- 1 teaspoon Himalayan salt, or to taste
- 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, or to taste
- Place the pumpkin, black beans, and almond milk in a high powered blender. Blend on high speed for 1 minute or until creamy smooth. Set aside.
- Place in a large pot the onion, garlic and tamari. Sauté on medium-high heat until aromatic and the onions translucent.
- Add the celery and carrots. Sauté 5 minutes or until just tender. Don’t over cook.
- Add the red wine, partly cover with a lid, and simmer for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
- Add blended pumpkin and bean mixture, as well as the dried herbs and seasoning. Stir. The consistency of the liquid should be like gravy. If too thick, add a little extra wine. Let simmer for 5 minutes or until heated, stirring frequently to prevent the stew from sticking to the pot. If desired, add more salt and pepper to taste.
- Add the tempeh and gently toss to coat. Simmer for 10 minutes or until the tempeh is heated through. Serve immediately.
- When adding the onion and garlic, add sliced crimini mushrooms, also known as baby bella mushrooms.
- If you prefer, replace the tempeh with another plant-based meat substitute. You might try a Beyond Meat brand product, such as 2 packages of either Beyond Sausage, or Beyond Burger. Just cook according to the package directions, slice into bite-size pieces, then add the pieces to the stew just before serving.
Makes 6 servings
*Wine can be processed using animal products, such as gelatin, egg whites, animal milk, and more. And though most wines are gluten-free, some winemakers use a wheat past to seal the oak barrels used for aging wines. But there are vegan and gluten-free wineries. Frey Vineyards is a popular one.