A delicious almond cake! You might like that this recipe is vegan and gluten-free, and you’ll probably love how it tastes.
Dry Cake Ingredients:
- 2 cups fine ground gluten-free almond flour
- 1/2 cup gluten-free sorghum flour, plus extra to dust the pan
- 1/2 cup gluten-free chickpea flour
- 1/2 cup gluten-free tapioca starch
- 1/2 cup gluten-free potato starch
- 2 teaspoons aluminum-free baking powder
- 1 teaspoon baking soda
- 1/2 teaspoon Himalayan salt
- 1 tablespoon slivered almonds, to garnish
Wet Cake Ingredients:
- 1/2 cup almond milk or soy milk
- 1/2 cup 100% pure maple syrup, plus 1 tablespoon to glaze top of cake
- 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
- 2 teaspoons grapeseed oil, plus extra to grease the pan
- 2 teaspoons Bragg Organic Apple Cider Vinegar or other brand
- 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract *
- 1 teaspoon almond extract*
- Place all the dry cake ingredients into a large size bowl, except for the almond slivers, and whisk to combine and aerate.
- In a medium size bowl mix together all the wet ingredients, except for the 1 tablespoon of maple syrup used as a glaze.
- Pour the wet ingredients into the dry. Use a large wooden spoon to mix for 1 minute or until well combined. Batter should be fairly thick. Let sit five minutes then mix again.
- Grease a 8 1/2- inch round cake pan with a little grapeseed oil. Use a little sorghum flour to dust the pan. Scoop the batter into the pan and smooth with the back of the spoon. Gently shake and tap the pan on a firm surface to help the batter to disperse evenly.
- Bake in a preheated 375º F oven, on the middle rack, for 25 – 30 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Let completely cool. Remove cake from pan.
- Spread the remaining 1 tablespoon of maple syrup on top of cake and garnish with almond slivers. Slice and serve. Stores refrigerated in a large container with tight fitting lid for up to 3 days.
Makes 1 (1 layer) cake
* When shopping, look for pure extracts since some contain alcohol primarily derived from corn. Yes corn is a gluten-free ingredient, but people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity may want to contact the manufacturer to be sure that it’s made in a gluten-free facility.